New KAEOPP Officers Installed

posted Apr 8, 2011, 11:15 AM by Kentucky Trio   [ updated Apr 8, 2011, 11:44 AM ]
New KAEOPP Officers were installed during the 2011 Spring Meeting on April 7, 2011 at Buffalo Trace Clubhouse in Frankfort, KY.  

Darla Pearson, Nominating Committee Chair swore in the newly elected officers at the close of the business meeting.  Tom Rowland (EOC Director - Morehead State University) will serve as KAEOPP President; Carol Elrod (ETS Director - Bluegrass Community and Technical College) will serve as KAEOPP Vice-President, Diane Garrard (Director SSS - Madisonville Community and Technical College) will serve as KAEOPP Secretary, Tammy Blackburn (Counseling Coordinator EOC - Morehead State University) will serve her second term as KAEOPP Treasurer, Stephen Keene (Coordinator UBMS - Murray State University) will serve as KAEOPP Service Member-at-Large, Amy Elmore (Transfer Coordinator SSS - Madisonville Community and Technical College) will serve as KAEOPP Conference Member-at-Large, and Chris George (Associate Director SSS - Western Kentucky University) will serve as KAEOPP Immediate Past-President.  For more information about the newly elected KAEOPP Officers please see the KAEOPP Contact Us page.

In his acceptance speech, newly elected President Tom Rowland spoke about the value of TRiO as whole, and the troubles facing TRiO and TRiO Students during this tough political climate.  President Rowland noted the strength that all of the TRiO Programs gain by being grouped together as TRiO and not just individual programs, and he reminded the TRiO Professionals in attendance what continued funding meant for all TRiO Participants that are served in Kentucky as well as the rest of the US.  President Rowland closed by assuring the membership that during his term he would be a powerful advocate for both KAEOPP and TRiO as he worked as President of KAEOPP. 

Congratulations to all new KAEOPP Officers!!!